Berghaus Dragon’s Back Race Relay Team 2017

As the Berghaus Dragon’s Back Race fast approaches we catch up with the Berghaus staff members brave enough to tackle the world’s toughest mountain race as part of a relay team.

The Team…

Chris Lines (CL)

Berghaus PR
I have been working with Berghaus since 1998 and have a deep love of the outdoors, and particularly of running. Based in County Durham, I am a member of local athletics club Sedgefield Harriers and have completed numerous races over the years, ranging in distance from 100 metres to marathons.

Richard Schorah (RS)

Commercial Coordinator
Growing up I did quite a bit of athletics but stopped around 18 / 19 years old. Around 5 years ago I decided I started running again and couldn’t run more than ¼ mile without being ill.

At that time I couldn’t understand how it was possible for anyone to run such long distances. Since then, the distances and type of race I have done have gradually changed to the point where I can believe that completing a day of the Dragon’s Back race is achievable.

Edward Austin (EA)

Technical Sales Executive
I have been working for Berghaus for almost a year; I am a passionate outdoor enthusiast now turned weekend warrior.

Daniel Smith (DS)

(Now ex) Berghaus Product Designer
(so maybe brand ambassador / product tester… Call me what you want now)
I was lucky enough to take part in the Berghaus relay team in the last Dragons Back race, and I’m gagging for more!

So, the Dragon’s Back Race – the world’s toughest mountain race – WHY did you put your name down!?

CL: I have a passion for running in general, but particularly on trails and fells, and I have tackled a few mountain marathons and adventure races before. I have also attended the last two Berghaus Dragon’s Back Races in a work capacity and found the events and competitors to be truly inspirational.